Judy Burton One of Seven Californians Honored by James Irvine Foundation


Contact: Tamara Murray, 415.901.0111 ext. 241, tmurray@fenton.com

SACRAMENTO — The James Irvine Foundation will announce and honor the recipients of the 2010 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Awards at an event in Sacramento today. Now in its fifth year, the awards celebrate extraordinary leaders who are advancing innovative and effective solutions to significant state issues. The awards aim to publicize proven solutions that can inform policymaking and better the lives of more Californians.

The seven recipients, described below, will receive six $125,000 awards and additional support from the Foundation for their organizations. (Two co-recipients will share one of the awards.)

Following recognition by legislators on the California Assembly floor, recipients will receive their awards from elected and appointed officials at an event at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in Sacramento.


Award Recipient


Dr. Ellen Beck, UCSD Student-Run Free Clinic Project, San Diego

California Assemblywoman Mary Salas

Judy Burton, Alliance for College-Ready Public Schools, Los Angeles

California State Board of Education President Ted Mitchell

Sam Cobbs, First Place for Youth, Oakland

California State Senate President pro Tem Darrell Steinberg

Dr. Katherine Flores, UCSF Fresno Latino Center for Medical Education and Research, Fresno

California Assemblyman Dr. Edward Hernandez

Erica Mackie and Tim Sears, GRID Alternatives, Oakland

California Assemblyman Sandré Swanson

Nita Vail, California Rangeland Trust, Sacramento

California State Senate Republican Leader Dennis Hollingsworth


“In tough economic times, it’s easy to focus only on what’s wrong in our state, but we should not lose sight of inspiring, transformative results that Californians are achieving on some of our most daunting problems,” said Jim Canales, president and CEO of the Irvine Foundation. “These extraordinary individuals have created successful models we can, and should, replicate across our state.”

For more information on this year’s recipients — including bios, videos and photographs — visit: www.irvine.org/leadership.